Tennisopolis : Tennis Social Network

I've been playing for about 10 years now, and the backhand has always been a weakness for me. When I first started learning, my father taught me the classic one hander. Then at around 16 I tried the two hander, with better success. I've used the two-hander almost exlclusively since then (I'm 24 now), but lately I've been trying to go back to the one hander.

I can hit either way equally well (i.e. much worse than my forehand), with slightly more pace on the two hander. However, I prefer the versatility of the one-handed shot. It's easier to flatten out, hit up the line, and obviously to slice. I've been working in the gym alot lately to build strength, and I think to have a good one hander you need alot of shoulder strength and good technique. A good two-hander to me requires more core strength and is easier to groove.

According to the numbers, about 70% of the men's side (even more on the women's) is now using a two hander. What are your experiences and thoughts on this topic?

Views: 272

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Like you, I've always enjoyed the versatility of the 1hbh. I find the 2hbh somewhat restricting and limiting. However, it is great on the return of serve or higher balls. They both have their good and bad points. But IMO a good player should be able to utilize both effectively. Either way you need to have a good slice bh in your repertoire.
Hey Jan, nice topic.

I used to play more than I do now when I was a little kid, and I started with a one hander. Mostly because that's the way my dad taught me. Ha, looking back at it now, the way he showed me is very close to Henin's execution. I never really learned to execute it properly, but my favorite shot is a 1-handed backhand slice, which I can do pretty well considering my lacking abilities.