Tennisopolis : Tennis Social Network

Hello everyone,

Hope all of you are well. I'm a tennis neophyte in Lake City, don't even have a racket yet. Just wanted some advice on rackets -- what I should look for when I buy? What's the price range? Any good rackets for reasonable prices?

I need to get some new tennis shoes, so I expect to pay a bit for those.

I was thinking of taking a beginners clinic to get down the basics. Sunday mornings work best for my schedule now. Full-time study and work makes time a premium, but isn't everyone's time??

Thanks for your thoughts. Have a good evening.

LR

Views: 7

Replies to This Discussion

Hey LR,

I started playing tennis last August and I can tell you that it's going to take a year to years before you'll be able to tell the difference between one racquet and another. My suggestion would be to get a racquet with a big head, which will give you a bigger sweet spot and more power. You can easily pick up one of these racquets at any sporting goods store. I got my first racquet at Costco. I wouldn't spend more than 50 bucks.

In terms of shoes, the best pair you can get are Barricade V shoes from Adidas. They'll run you 110 dollars though so I'd suggest getting Prince or Wilson brand, you can get a decent pair for 20-50 bucks.

For lessons, the Amy Yee Tennis Center is good if you can get in a class. The classes are six weeks in length, one day a week and cost around 60-70 dollars. They have very beginning to advanced classes. You can get more info at www.seattle.gov/parks.

I hope this helps, tennis is a great sport!

Justin