LONDON (AP)—David Nalbandian was fined the maximum $12,560 and placed under police investigation for assault after kicking an advertising board and injuring a line judge during the Queen's Club final.
The ATP confirmed the fine for unsportsmanlike conduct on Monday and said the Argentine player also was stripped of his $57,350 in prize money.
London police, meanwhile, said they were investigating a complaint of assault filed against Nalbandian, who was defaulted from Sunday's match against Marin Cilic in the grass-court Wimbledon warmup event.
Police declined to say who made the complaint. Any member of the public who witnessed the event in person or on television could have made a complaint, as could the line judge himself.
''We are aware of an incident at the Aegon Championships,'' the Metropolitan Police said in a statement. ''A complaint has been made and the Metropolitan Police Service is now investigating. The allegation is of assault.''
Nalbandian won the first set 7-6 (3) but lost his temper after losing serve to fall behind 3-4 in the second. After missing a running forehand on game point, he kicked the board under the chair of line judge Andrew McDougall. A piece of the board cut the judge on the left shin, leaving him bloodied from an inch-long gash.
Tournament director Chris Kermode said McDougall received first aid but needed no further treatment after seeing a doctor.
Nalbandian was disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct. ATP rules state that any violent action will result in an automatic default. Nalbandian, who is still scheduled to play at Wimbledon when it starts on Monday, insisted he shouldn't have been disqualified.
''Sometimes you get very frustrated on court and it's tough to control that, and sometimes I do a mistake. So it's very tough to end a final like that,'' he said. ''I agree I do a mistake but sometimes everybody do a mistake and I didn't feel it had to end like that, especially in a final.''
Replies to This Discussion
"Hey Fatbandian. I'm talking to yous. Yes, yous. Hey doncha get any big ideas, assaulting me with your big fat feet!"
What a shame. I know he didn't mean to kick the linesman but that apology at the end of the match was pathetic.
My question is, if found guilty (and I don't know how long the process will take in Jolly ol England) could he also be disqualified for Wimby? How crazy would that be?
Murray defending Nalby: http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/jun/20/wimbledon-2012-nalbandi...
Also, McDougall (the line judge) is the person forwarding the assault charge.