Curious to see what everyone thinks of the call. For those in favor of Djoker, I'm hearing the "he conceded a point he didn't have to to Robredo the match before." to which the nay sayers reply "True, but he wasn't in any threat of losing and was already up a break. He knows there's a legitimate chance of Murray beating him, and chose to not give the point away, even though he admitted he was over the net." I'll say that I'm a huge advocate for sportsmanship. How would you even feel victorious if you knowingly were given a point you didn't earn? And for Djokovic to say he wasn't sure of the rule? Are you kidding me? Perhaps if he hadn't made that statement, I'd lean to neutral. But that was a clear lie, and very unsportsman-like from the World #2. Thoughts?
Replies to This Discussion
Novak knew he was over the net. I think he admitted that he was over when the two boys met a the net and he patted Murray on the arm. I just don't know why he didn't concede the point. Maybe he thought he was fine because he didn't touch the net.
In any case there shouldn't be much controversy here. If you look at the court positioning on the replay, Murray was not even visible on the frame. He had almost no chance at getting the the ball anyway.